Easy Peasy Peach Crisp

When I cook, I tend to focus on either a main course: lunch or dinner, or experimenting with a dessert. Last night, however, I thought I’d push myself to make dinner AND a dessert, all within the same time frame. I found myself contemplating what the easiest dessert would be, with minimum fuss and maximum taste.

Rummaging through the grocery cupboard, I discovered a tin of peaches in light syrup and light bulbbb (cue: same voice as Gru from Despicable Me)! I though peach crisp with a good dollop of vanilla ice cream, would be perfect after my cheesy meaty pasta (await my post on that soon).

A crisp is one of the easiest desserts to make, and its perfect with almost ANY kind of fruits you may have on hand: canned or fresh. Apples, peaches, cherries, berries, mangoes, kiwis would make amazing crisps.

I decided to make 4 individual crisps, rather than one big dish. But that’s up to you; whatever is most convenient.

Peach Crisp

  • One 15 ounce can of tinned peaches
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup plain flour
  • 1 (or 2) teaspoons of ground cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup of cold butter, cubed

Drain the peaches and carefully dice them. They can be as big or small as you’d like. The chunkier the better. Arrange the peach cubes at the bottom of a small- medium baking dish, or 4 ramekins, lightly greased with butter.

In a separate bowl, mix the flour, cinnamon and sugar and rub the cubed butter into it. Then fold in the oats and layer this mixture over the top of your peaches, pressing down to pack it in.

Bake at 180°C in a pre-heated oven for 20-30 minutes, until the top is golden brown.

20150530_213220-01

Serve, immediately, with a nice, large scoop of vanilla ice cream. The ice cream, could be easily substituted with whipped cream.

But, in this hot summer weather, only ice cream will do!

I had a single peach half remaining, which I sliced in four and used to garnish the individual crisps! I have to say, it tasted bloody damn good! Voila! One of the easiest and quickest desserts you can make!

2015-05-31 02.57.11-01

Bon Appetit!

** Recipe adapted from All Recipes (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/moms-peach-crisp/)**

Leave a Reply

