The Cupcake Diaries: Chocolate

Aaaand as promised… here’s my post on pretty Chocolate cupcakes!

20150608_083925

Waaay too often, cupcakes are too pretty to eat, I swear!

Like with my vanilla cupcakes, I wanted to use Cupcake Jemma’s recipe for Chocolate cupcakes. Her’s looked so moist and yummy, but unfortunately she adds in coffee and while I love me some coffee, I wanted a pure chocolate cupcake. I wasn’t sure how best to substitute for that!

** (If anyone has any ideas how best to do that… I’m all ears!!) **

Jemma also uses chocolate chips in her recipe. Chocolate chips aren’t always available, at your nearest supermarket over here, and again, I didn’t know how the substitution with cocoa powder would work!

** (Again, if anyone knows how to,  please do let me know!) **

So I scrolled across Pinterest until I came upon these perfectly beautiful hydrangea chocolate cupcakes from Glorious Treats! They are so pretty, I’d just love to look at them, rather than eat them! That’s next on my to-do list!

And of course, the blog had a great recipe for chocolate cupcakes! Thanks Glory!

Her recipe makes between 24-27 standard cupcakes, but I only wanted 12, so I halved her recipe!

Chocolate Cupcakes (adapted from Glorious Treats)

  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence/ extract
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat an oven to 175°C and line a muffin tin with paper liners.

In a large bowl, sift together the sugar, flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add in the egg, milk, oil and vanilla.

Beat on a medium speed for about 1 minute and then stir in the boiling water. This makes the batter thin, so don’t worry about it, once you see the consistency.

I poured the batter into a measuring jug, and used it to fill the lines between 2/3 to 3/4 full.

Bake for 18- 22 minutes, and allow to cool completely, before frosting.

20150607_175452

I used buttercream frosting for the cupcakes and the recipe is on the post for vanilla cupcakes. I tinted the frosting in pastel colours: blue/ green and pink.

20150607_180112

I watched the video to frost hydrangea flowers on cupcakes by Rosie: Cake Diva. She’s got tons of great videos on trying different frosting techniques. So go check her channel out! I wanted to do it dual toned, like in the video, and also the one done on Glorious Treats, but for some reason, it didn’t look right. So, I decided to stick to a single colour for now. But I’m definitely trying a dual-toned one soon! They’re too pretty to resist!

I used a Wilton 2D tip to frost the cupcakes; it’s possibly one of the easiest ways to decorate a cupcake. I added a few silver dragees, once the cupcakes were frosted.

20150607_182226

The cupcakes with blue frosting were frosted using the begonia technique, with a Wilton #104 tip; the same as I used for the vanilla ones previously. I added a few pastel sprinkles on to each, just to make them prettier!

20150608_083925

Bon Appetit!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Arielle says:

    Oh wow they look so beautiful and delicious! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Naadia says:

      Thank youuu so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

